Saturday, 22 August 2015

Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands are an archipelago between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately halfway between Norway and Iceland, 320 kilometres (200 mi) north-northwest of Great Britain. The area is approximately 1,400 km2 (540 sq mi) with a 2015 population of 48,700. The islands are an autonomous country within the Danish kingdom

Between 1035 and 1814, the Faroe Islands were part of the Kingdom of Norway. The 1814 Treaty of Kiel granted Denmark control over the islands, along with two other Norwegian regions: Greenland and Iceland. The Faroe Islands have been a self-governing country within the Danish Realm since 1948. The Faroese have control of most domestic matters; areas that remain the responsibility of Denmark include military defence, police, justice, currency and foreign affairs. The Faroe Islands have representation in the Nordic Council as members of the Danish delegation.

In Danish, the name Færøerne may reflect an Old Norse word fær (sheep). The morpheme øerne represents a plural (with definite article) of ø (island) in Danish. The Danish name thus translates as "the islands of sheep".

Thanks to my crazy Russian friend for this precious card from her travels!
The Puffin bird is a happy coincidence for my small Puffin collection :D
In case you wonder what made her pop by the Faroe islands, here's some astounding 
pictures from Buzzfeed. Faroe Islands are in the news recently for whale killing :(
Thank you my Curly Sheep friend for taking time out to send me a card from your sheep paradise!!
Sent: 11 August 2015   Received: 21 August 2015   Travelled: 10 days

No comments: